On the Hazards of Navigation (Part 3)


We’re definitely on Roxas Boulevard,” Anoushka confirmed, her nose communing with my Metro Manila atlas.

“We need to turn right somewhere to get to Makati,” I told her distractedly, still trying to orient myself. “Can you find Buendia?”

“Buendia . . . Buendia . . .” Anoushka muttered. “There’s ‘Jill Puyat . . .'”

Gil Puyat,” I corrected her absentmindedly. “The soft ‘g’ in Spanish is pronounced like the English ‘h’.”

“Gil,” Anoushka repeated correctly. And then she added a beat later: “We’ve already passed it.”

(I heard another chuckle-like sound from Lydia.)

I thought fast. “Maybe we can take a right somewhere and double back?”

Anoushka conferred quickly with the atlas. “You can take a right on Pablo Ocampo, Sr., then turn right again on F.B. Harrison, then turn left into Gil Puyat.”

Ten minutes later, I realized that I couldn’t make a left onto Gil Puyat from F.B. Harrison. The good thing was the U turn was close enough to prevent me from ramming my head on the steering wheel in frustration.

“Can you find your way from here?” Anoushka asked me.

“Yes,” I replied firmly. “This is familiar ground.”

“Right,” Anoushka nodded—and promptly opened the atlas again.

Fifteen minutes later, I finally deposited a grinning Lydia at her hotel doorstep (with profuse apologies that she waved away by saying in her gracious German accent: “I got to see much more of the countryside!”) and then an equally mirthful Anoushka at a friend’s house in San Lorenzo Village.

“Do come in for a bit!” Our friend Zemfira protested when I turned away at the gate. “Some other time,” I smile. “It’s been a long drive and I have a few other things to do.”

And just when I thought I could finally get home without further incident: I lost my way trying to get out of San Lorenzo Village.

Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah.

2 thoughts on “On the Hazards of Navigation (Part 3)

  1. Tin says:

    You’re funny! 😀

    Just charge everything to experience. When you look back, it’ll be one of the funniest memories you have of driving with friends. At the very least, you were lost and panicking with calm people.

    Like

    • Eileen says:

      My funniest stories are the ones where I’m lost and panicking WITH equally lost and panicky people. If I’m still around, it’s because I don’t have too many of those stories.

      Like

Leave a Reply

