On the Modernity of Families


(MODERN Family) A spectacularly enjoyable useless pastime. (Image sourced from Google.)

I’m a terribly late adopter when it comes to television, mostly because I don’t have a television, I don’t have a radio, I don’t read newspapers (except in dentist’s offices), I don’t read magazines (except the free copy of the Economist that sometimes accompanies international flights), I barely surf the net, and I only talk about SERIOUS things with my family and friends (things lifted from the last copy of the Economist that I managed to read). So when a really good show comes along, it can take up to five years before it actually shows up in my radar screen.

Fortunately, I didn’t have to wait so long to stumble onto Modern Family because a malfunction involving a slightly…illegitimate copy of the movie New Year’s Eve at my friend T.’s house inadvertently led to a search for alternatives that culminated in, yes, our watching Modern Family.

Needless to say, I got hooked.

For those of you who’ve seen the show, you know exactly why. After all, what’s not to love about it? It’s hysterically funny, uncannily real and paradoxically endearing. And even if it wasn’t any of these things, who can possibly resist Eric Stonestreet, Sofia Vergara and Rico Rodriguez???

As for those of you who haven’t seen the show, I’m not going to say watch it because I don’t recommend watching television on principle. But if you’re watching television anyway (and it’s therefore not my fault that you engage in useless pastimes), go ahead and watch as much of Modern Family as you can. As useless pastimes go, this one’s one close to the top of my list.

2 thoughts on “On the Modernity of Families

Leave a Reply

