On the Absence of Urgency


Lately, I’ve been wrestling with the absence of the urgent.

For the last year-and-a-half, my life’s been dominated by the dire, the imperative and the pressing. If I haven’t imploded (and I’ve come perilously close on several occasions) it’s only because I make a living out of practicing and teaching a discipline that’s superbly effective at calming down the mind-and-body system. But the fact of the matter is, the last several months have turned me into a seasoned firefighter, and now that there aren’t any fires to put out, I spend most of my days imagining smoke.

It’s not that there’s nothing to do. As always, there’s an obscene amount of work to be done: I just don’t know which to do first in the absence of an externally-imposed deadline.

And here I was thinking that I was the type to flourish in an “unstructured environment.”

Hah.

(Goodbye cherished illusion #1006.)

I still don’t know what I’m going to do. But I’m pretty clear about the upside to all this, which is: there’s actually space. There’s actually room to mull options, room to debate possibilities, room to argue priorities.

Let the next round of chaos begin.

Wheeeeeeeeee!

2 thoughts on “On the Absence of Urgency

  1. Tin says:

    And yet there you were last night, merely a month later, bemoaning the lack of headspace. I don’t know, E. I think there’s a deafening sea of sound, always. Grateful we have at least a dozen other senses—even if common sense isn’t always the most accessible one. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

