On the Suction of Vortices


(MENTAL Vortex) It sucks me in without fail. (Image sourced from Tara Brach's Facebook page.)

(MENTAL Vortex) It sucks me in without fail. (Image sourced from Tara Brach’s Facebook page.)

Another intense week done. Another intense week to do.

When I talk of durations as if they’re things I need to handle, it’s a sign that I’ve slipped into overdrive. Life has, once again, become one extended episode of Survivor—with the myriad voices in my head voting each other out.

As I alluded to in an earlier post, I’m really trying not to get sucked into my mental vortices (these tornadoes dump me in places crazier than Oz). The experience is like pulling on the handbrake when your car is in fifth gear.

As one can imagine, it doesn’t make for a smooth ride (in the same way that this jumping from one metaphor to another doesn’t make for a smooth read).

But putting on the brakes (no matter how jarring, no matter how abrupt) counts for a victory of some kind. And given that I’ve still got an intense week ahead, I’m going to tally as many of these wins as I can.

Huy.

Leave a Reply

