On the Endings in Beginnings


TOWERING Trees

It’s the start of a new month.

Not just any month though. It’s August: a month that’s always signified major and minor beginnings in my life (including said life).

Part of the beginning always includes a long, withdrawn (occasionally overdue) ending. My good friend Sarah—a gifted healer—once told me that human beings are energetically weakest right before their birthdays. This fact explains why I get sick around the end of July or the beginning of August.

So this is me starting the new month with a new inhaler (I’m on 180 micrograms of salbutamol as I write; my fingers tremble whenever they float above the keyboard). This recent attack could have been averted if I’d taken just a little bit more care of myself (Nurture yourself during this time, Sarah had advised me gently), but there was a lot of fixing and mending that I wanted to get done in July (see my July 18, 2013 post on The Ways of Things) and the material/psychic/existential maintenance took an unexpected physical toll.

Still, there’s no room for regret. It’s the start of a new month after all. And not just any month, but August.

So this is me: hoping, praying, yearning and trusting. Let a new month begin. Let a new year begin. May I meet whatever comes with equanimity and grace.

6 thoughts on “On the Endings in Beginnings

  1. Eena says:

    Happy birthday then! Oh, must read more about this birthday weakness. I experienced this from childhood until adolescence and pouted during many a birthday party, hehe. Happy new year! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

