On the Passage of Pleasures


(PAST Pleasures) Nothing ever tastes as good as it does in memory. (Photo taken by Ria Tirazona.)

(PAST Pleasures) Nothing ever tastes as good as it does in memory. (Photo courtesy of Ria Tirazona.)

So, to celebrate the largely successful completion of our thirty-day detoxification program, Abbey and I went out for a pizza and pasta lunch yesterday with fellow yoga teacher Ria in tow.

Since it was one of our usual haunts, we knew exactly what we wanted to get. (Well, at least Abbey and I did. Ria gracefully conceded to everything we both wanted.) As always, we inhaled everything in slightly under fifteen minutesincluding the time spent waiting for the food. (Yes, two pizzas and a bowl of pasta plus two giant brownies and a cookie butter shake later on were no match for three ravenous yoginis.)

On our way back to the studio after Ria had dropped us off, I turned to Abbey a tad ruefully and said: It didn’t taste quite as good as it used to.

Abbey replied: No, it didn’t.

After I pause, I said: In a way, I’m glad. It makes it all much easier to give up.

To which Abbey said: Yes, it does.

Like I said, this is going to be my grand year of letting things go.

So far, it’s been easy.

I hope (against all expectations) that it stays that way.

Leave a Reply

