On Thoughts of Tibet


 

(CHINA, Tibet) On the road from Nyalam to Xegar. (Photo taken by the author.)

(CHINA, Tibet) On the road from Nyalam to Xegar. (Photo taken by the author.)

When I think of the wide open road, I think of Tibet.

I’ve spent countless hours on countless roads, but few roads stand out as clearly in memory as the roads of Tibet.

If only because for long stretches, the roads of Tibet do not belong to the landscape of Tibet. (What is a road doing in this panorama of dust and stone and sky?)

Also: I’ve never seen the sky as blue and as near as it is in Tibet.

(CHINA, Tibet)  The waters of the Yarlung Tsangpo River. (Photo taken by the author.)

(CHINA, Tibet) The skies above the Yarlung Tsangpo River. (Photo taken by the author.)

Nor, for that matter: Lakes as blue and as near as the sky.

(CHINA, Tibet) The waters of Yamdrok Lake. (Photo taken by the author.)

(CHINA, Tibet) The waters of Yamdrok Lake. (Photo taken by the author.)

So when I think of wide open roads, wide blue skies and crystal blue lakes, I think of Tibet.

In short, when I think of freedom, I think of Tibet.

Now, if only Tibet were free.

Leave a Reply

