On the Dearth of Sleep


(INSOMNIA Penguin) This was exactly how I felt around 1:00 am. (Painting with acrylic by Kazuya Akimoto.)

(INSOMNIA Penguin) This was exactly how I felt around 1:00 am. (Painting with acrylic by Kazuya Akimoto.)

And to think that just the other day, I was talking about the undead.

Metaphorically, I mean.

Anyway, I was a total zombie today.

I don’t normally suffer from insomnia, but when I do, it’s bad (and all the worse precisely because I don’t normally suffer from insomnia). What I’m trying to say in disjointed zombie fashion is: I’m not used to functioning without decent amounts of sleep.

So today, I mostly just…malfunctioned: zoned out in practice; zoned out in meetings; zoned out in conversations; zoned out in class.

(Zoning out now in the middle of this blog post.)

Not that zoning out is all that foreign. I zone out all the time (big time), but I zone out with intensity (at the very least, with intention). But these vacuous and vapid abandonments of the present—these insipid abductions out of time—these are new.

And annoying.

And unsettling.

(And a disquieting harbinger of things that will, in the likelihood of decades, come.)

They say that things always look better in the morning.

I’m sure they will.

With enough sleep.

Gaaaaaaaaaaaaaah.

4 thoughts on “On the Dearth of Sleep

  1. Kim says:

    Did you happen to get any cravings for human flesh and maybe braaaiiiiiiinnnnssssss…Sorry bad joke. But just in case you find a non-chemical-based solution (I have to drink an antihistamine to make me sleep sometimes ) please do share it. I have to take antihistamines anyway for my allergies but I would like a more natural remedy other than chamomile tea which only works sporadically for me or a massage which although quite effective is much too expensive and is not practical in the middle of the night.

    Like

Leave a Reply

